The German Book Prize is awarded to the novel of the year by the Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels Foundation. The award ceremony takes place annually at the start of the Frankfurt Book Fair. The award is intended to attract cross-border literary attention and thus help German-speaking authors to become better known. Since its creation in 2005, the German Book Prize has stood for an independent and expert determination of the winners.

The application process begins at the same time

There are still eight months until the German Book Prize is awarded and the Frankfurt Book Fair begins. Now the Akademie Deutscher Buchpreis has announced its participants to its jury. This happened parallel to the start of the application process for the German Book Prize 2019.

Exhibition period: Wednesday, October 16 - Sunday, October 20

The annually newly elected and independent experts of the literature jury include:

Petra Hartlieb, literary critic, author and owner of the traditional bookstore "Hartliebs Bücher" in Vienna. Was already a juror at the Austrian Book Prize 2017 and the Austrian State Prize for European Literature 2018.

Hauke ​​Hückstädt, has headed the Frankfurt Literature House since 2010. Works as an author, also as a literary critic, lecturer and advises authors on their public practice for selected publishers.

Björn Lauer, active in the fiction department and head of marketing and purchasing at the Hugendubel bookstore in Frankfurt am Main, also known for his everyday poetry on Instagram (@lauersegler).

Jörg Magenau, freelance author, literary critic and co-founder of the weekly newspaper "Freitag". In the past editor of the "taz", the "Berliner Seiten" and the "FAZ", today working for the "Süddeutsche Zeitung", the rbb and Deutschlandfunk Kultur.

Alf Mentzer, who received his doctorate with a prestigious thesis on literature, is a permanent editor at Hessischer Rundfunk, has headed the literary department of hr2006-kultur since 2 and has been the head of the hr2014 day program since 2.

Daniela Strigl, multiple award-winning literary critic and author. Worked as a juror for the jury of the Ingeborg Bachmann Prize (Klagenfurt), the German Book Prize and the Leipzig Book Fair Prize.

Margarete von Schwarzkopf, experienced editor, author and moderator of authors. Editorial activities for the Catholic News Agency, the daily newspaper "DIE WELT" and the North German Broadcasting Corporation.

Multi-stage selection process

The task of the seven jury members is to make a joint decision on who should receive the German Book Prize 2019. A multi-stage process is selected for this. Who will receive the German Book Prize will be announced on October 14, 2019, during the evening of the award ceremony, in the Kaisersaal of the Frankfurter Römers. Inger-Maria Mahlke received the German Book Prize 2018 for her novel "Archipel"

Further information at:

We publish the latest news from the areas of board and card games, literature and film, toys, video games and events. Send us an email with your press release.

Click on the button below to load the contents of

Load content